1Davenport University
2University of Saint Francis
3University of Saint Francis
4Indiana Wesleyan University
5Union College
6Briar Cliff University
7Tabor College
8Northwest Christian University
9Bethel College
10Keiser University
13Dakota Wesleyan University
RVMidland University
No Events Today
Wednesday, Feb 10
Men's Tennis
Cowley College vs 8:00 am
Midland CST
Cowley College vs 12:00 pm
Doane CST
Women's Basketball
Doane at 6:00 pm
College of Saint Mary CST
(11)Hastings at 6:00 pm
Nebraska Wesleyan CST
(9)Briar Cliff at 6:00 pm
Dordt CST
Home Media
Visitor Media"
Midland at 6:00 pm
(12)Concordia CST
(16)Dakota Wesleyan at 6:00 pm
(2)Morningside CST
(RV)Mount Marty at 6:00 pm
Northwestern CST
Men's Basketball
York College at 7:00 pm
Doane CST
Doane at 7:00 pm
Briar Cliff CST
Men's Basketball
Hastings at 8:00 pm
Nebraska Wesleyan CST
(6)Briar Cliff at 8:00 pm
Dordt CST
Home Media
Visitor Media"
(RV)Midland at 8:00 pm
Concordia CST
(13)Dakota Wesleyan at 8:00 pm
Morningside CST
Mount Marty at 8:00 pm
Northwestern CST
Thursday, Feb 11
Morningside at 7:00 pm
Concordia CST
Waldorf College at 7:00 pm
Northwestern CST
Friday, Feb 12
Men's Indoor T&F
Doane at  
Concordia Invitational
Midland at  
SDSU Indoor Classic
Hastings at  
Concordia Invitational
Dakota Wesleyan at 12
(20)Doane 41
Senior Night
Sunday, Feb 7
Hastings at 18
Benedictine College 31
Hastings vs 47
Bethany College 6
Hastings at 4
Friends University 5
Women's Tennis
College of Saint Mary vs 1
University of Sioux Falls 8
Dakota Wesleyan at 0
Chadron State College 53
Saturday, Feb 6
Men's Tennis
University of Nebraska-Kearney at 9
Nebraska Wesleyan 0
Women's Tennis
University of Nebraska-Kearney at 9
Nebraska Wesleyan 0
Men's Basketball
Hastings at 90
Northwestern 88
(RV)Midland at 92
Dordt 79
Nebraska Wesleyan at 107
(13)Dakota Wesleyan 97
Concordia at 83
Morningside 79
Doane at 77
Mount Marty 66
Men's Tennis
Grand View University vs 5
Doane 4
Fremont YMCA
Midland at 10
Dallas Christian College 10
Dallas Christian Tournament
Dordt at Ppd
Briar Cliff  
BCU Dome Tournament (Charger Dome - South Sioux City, NE)
Women's Tennis
Northwestern vs 8
Bethany Lutheran College 1
Women's Basketball
(11)Hastings at 60
Northwestern 61
College of Saint Mary at 81
(9)Briar Cliff 77
Midland at 64
Dordt 74
The Cougars Are Charter Members of the GPAC
The Cougars Are Charter Members of the GPAC
USF Accepted Into NCAA Division II Candidacy Membership
GPAC - Fri, Jul. 10, 2009
The University of Sioux Falls' application for admittance into the NCAA Division II candidacy period has been accepted, the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) announced on Friday. USF will begin the three-year transition process during the 2009-2010 athletic seasons.

USF will be a candidate member for the NCAA during the 2009-2010 and 2010-2011 seasons, but remain an active member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and the Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC).

When candidacy moves to year three, USF will enter the 2011-12 academic year as an NCAA "provisional status" member. During this one-year provisional status period, USF will be ineligible to compete in post-season play in either the NCAA or NAIA and will also be required to operate under NCAA Division II regulations.

Following each season of the three year transition period, the NCAA will review USF's annual progress report and approve advancement in the transition period.

The NCAA Membership Committee also invited the following schools to enter year one of the candidacy period, effective September 1:

Academyof Art University (San Francisco, California)

CedarvilleUniversity (Cedarville, Ohio)

MinotState University (Minot, North Dakota)

NotreDame College (Cleveland, Ohio)

SimonFraser University (Burnaby, British Columbia)

Universityof Sioux Falls (Sioux Falls, South Dakota)

WilliamJewell College (Liberty, Missouri)

Those schools were among 15 institutions that submitted application materials by the June 1 deadline. Simon Fraser is the first Canadian institution to apply for NCAA membership.

The eight institutions whose applications were not accepted are:

CaliforniaState University, San Marcos (San Marcos, California)

MaloneUniversity (Canton, Ohio)

McKendreeUniversity (Lebanon, Illinois)

MonroeCollege (New York, New York)

Mount VernonNazarene University (Mount Vernon, Ohio)

UrsulineCollege (Pepper Pike, Ohio)

WalshUniversity (North Canton, Ohio)

YoungHarris College (Young Harris, Georgia)

Committee members did not believe those institutions met all of the conditions cited in a set of "minimum expectations" the panel adopted this past year in sports sponsorship, compliance, personnel, strategic planning and financial aid, among others. Those standards were developed as part of the application to ensure that applicants are adequately prepared to enter the membership process and move through the candidacy and provisional periods more efficiently.

"The expectations are meant to provide greater clarity to institutions interested in applying for Division II membership," said Membership Committee Chair Glenn Stokes, the faculty athletics representative at Columbus State. "These benchmarks provide guidance as to what qualities the committee is looking for in an institution that wants to become a part of Division II."

Stokes said the guidelines also support the notion of Division II as "a membership destination."

"The membership-destination ‘slogan' is a purposeful effort to validate for our current members that they are where they belong as much as it is a billboard to attract new members," Stokes said. "It is meant to celebrate a collection of existing and prospective members who feel good about abiding by an agreed-upon set of behaviors. While we want to grow Division II membership, we want to do so strategically. If the minimum expectations appear stringent, it is because we want to build our membership based on the attributes we have worked so hard to identify through our strategic-positioning platform.

"That is not to say that the schools whose applications we did not accept at this meeting are not capable of meeting those standards. Some in fact are very close to being where we think they ought to be."

The committee in fact recommended clarifying the minimum expectations to assist future applicants.

Candidacy and provisional progression

The Membership Committee also reviewed progress from 11 other institutions currently in the membership process.

The committee agreed to move the following schools from the candidacy period to provisional status, effective September 1:

Universityof Arkansas at Fort Smith (Fort Smith, Arkansas)

Universityof Illinois at Springfield (Springfield, Illinois)

KingCollege (Bristol, Tennessee)

LincolnUniversity (Lincoln University, Pennsylvania)

St. ThomasUniversity (Miami Gardens, Florida)

UrbanaUniversity (Urbana, Ohio)

The committee also agreed to move the following institutions from year one of the candidacy period to year two, effective September 1:

CaliforniaState University, East Bay (Hayward, California)

DominicanUniversity of California (San Rafael, California)

MaryvilleUniversity of St. Louis (St. Louis, Missouri)

OhioDominican University (Columbus, Ohio)

One other institution, Lambuth University (Jackson, Tennessee), was asked to repeat year one of the candidacy period.